What feels possible and what is possible

Posted on

Sorry I’ve been rather silent, school has me slammed these days, and if I have the choice to write about running or actually going for a run, the later wins out.

I’ve been thinking a lot about limitations and goals and the base motivations of long-distance running. My dream to run the length of the country is truly born out of a sincere fascination: with the land, with the psychology and physiology  of running . In no way do I see it as a self-punishment or something to be endured, but rather something to be enjoyed, conquered and experienced with a wide-open heart and mind.

Part of this fascination is geographical. Every time I run through a new section of the country I discover something I cannot experience from the car. You cannot learn or feel a place at 100k an hour with the air-conditioning cranked.

Places evolve and change every few ks especially in this condensed and complicated Land. One minute you are running through a succulent orchard, the next you find yourself on the edge of the desert. One moment you are confronted with the curiosity that is urban sprawl and the ubiquitous technology park, the next you pass a 1500 year old building, surrounding by sheep and Bedouin. Every few ks there emerges a unique geography, new smells; this country is so diverse and multi-layered and with each new layer I  unveil I discover something wondrous and beautiful.

Though 3 marathons in 12 months is hardly a great accomplishment, I keep discovering that my physical capabilities are more significant than I ever imagined. What was completely unattainable six months ago is old news now.

The idea of running a number of extreme distances back-to-back is about wanting to test the limits and hopefully succeed accomplishing something which previously would have been impossible. I’m looking forward to drawing attention to a cause, though which one is unclear.

I’m still months away from knocking back 50k runs back to back, but I’ll be that guy soon enough. If I achieve this goal it won’t be because I’m particularly gifted, though that’d be nice, but because I’m obsessive and somewhat disciplined and will have learned how to endure.

I want to take my body to the edge of its ultimate potential and take my mind even further. I am limited only by the arbitrary fences I build around ideas and my willingness to dare to shatter those faux boundaries. This was driven home this week by a fascinating article I read in the Walrus. Alex Hutchinson was exploring new research regarding the brain’s role in governing our body’s performance and I’d highly recommend giving it a read. The bottom-line I took away as a runner was, the edge is a relative term, and what feels possible and what is possible are two different things, and it’s all in your head, literally.

Since my non-cool blood meltdown and flu, I’ve found my groove again and I’ve been racking up about 40-50k a week now, though the long-runs as they creep into the 30k zone are really hard in the heat. I’m playing with hydration solutions and hope to acclimatize yet.

In the meantime, I’m eagerly looking forward to the 10k in Kiryat Gat next Thursday and I’ve convinced my wife to let me sign-up for the Sovev Emeq Ultra Marathon in October, I’ve pitched it as my birthday present. I’m hoping to tackle the 60k leg.

Oh, I recently bought a book off of Fishpond 50 Secrets I Learned Running 50 Marathons in 50 Days by Dean Karnazes, I’m hoping it will provide inspiration and tips to aid me in my quest. Fishpond seems like a cool option for me, as their books are a bit more pricey than Amazon, but shipping is free, so no hidden gouging. I’ll let you know when it arrives how the overall process went, and maybe we’ll even host a giveaway in the near future…

Peace to you on the Long Run.


One thought on “What feels possible and what is possible

    annimaarit said:
    14/06/2012 at 10:42 am

    “what feels possible and what is possible are two different things, and it’s all in your head, literally.” this i can agree with wholeheartedly.

    interesting read, i’ll be keeping an eye on your future posts.

Leave a comment